I would like to love you in silence

IMG_8707

I would like to love you in silence,
for silence belongs to the stars.
I would love you in solitude,
in a wordless agony,
in the darkness before dawn.
How many times have you broken me
and left the pieces scattered
on the marble floor,
in the silhouettes of trees,
in the shadows of leaves,
in the wind.
I’ve traveled back and forth,
in time, through the infinite
just to find the same empty halls,
and blank walls,
this coldness in my dreams.
You’ve hidden your heart away,
buried in some far-off dimension,
invisible and indivisible,
though dangling
right there on your sleeve.
How you mock me
with your friendship,
or this rejection of a smile,
no yeses, just vague hints
of this and that and some other.
Will you make me wait, as well,
make me fall to my knees?
But you can’t hurt me now,
can you? Because you already did
this day and
a thousand times over,
but you won’t see me leave
or beg or forgive.
So I’ve decided
to love you in silence
for silence belongs to the stars
and to the shadows
and to the silhouettes of trees.

First Published on June 30, 2012

2 thoughts on “I would like to love you in silence

Leave a Reply

