The Thinking That Comes Before

DSC_1300

In this cold lonely night,
I think of you
more than I’ve ever thought of you
before

I think of you as if
you were a guilt
that never leaves
despite the many ablutions
and prayers of confession
and ethnic cleansings;

you’ve taken root,
built a home for yourself
even an altar
in the recesses of my mind.

And with these thoughts
I wonder
if I ever reach you
like the soft moonlight
that falls through your window
seeing through the glass
never daring to come closer
and touch

Your mind must be wandering, too
sailing in a different universe
towards a different sunshine
away from this melancholy
that you’ve always understood
but never really knew

I think of you as if
it’s the last time
I’ll ever have to
for tomorrow
we will become two
as if we never met,
as if we never knew.

First published on June 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

